BLASS, Valérie (1967)

Valérie Blass, High-up, dignitary, panjandrum, high muckamuck, 2015. Polystyrène, Styroplast, gouache, acier, caoutchouc, impression Inkjet sur cotton, structure de métal. 101 ½ x 121 x 62 pouces. Photo © :  Catriona Jeffries Gallery 
 (Vancouver), 2015.
Valérie Blass, High-up, dignitary, panjandrum, high muckamuck, 2015. Polystyrène, Styroplast, gouache, acier, caoutchouc, impression Inkjet sur cotton, structure de métal. 101 ½ x 121 x 62 pouces. Photo © : Catriona Jeffries Gallery (Vancouver), 2015.

Born in Chambly, Quebec, Valérie Blass holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree in visual and media arts from the Université du Québec à Montréal. Devoted to an artistic career mainly concerned with sculpture, Blass explores diverse territories through which she juxtaposes animal, human and inanimate forms. The result: the creation of strange, hybrid objects that combine abstraction and figuration, often with a touch of humour. Her use of both noble and trivial materials together in one piece often surprises the viewer. Intent on creating complex and enigmatic sculptures, she modifies techniques traditionally associated with this medium, such as moulding, modelling, assemblage and bricolage. Towards the end of the 1990s, Blass began exhibiting work in various locations in Quebec, Canada and abroad. Notable among her solo exhibitions are Le regard des animaux, shown at Dare-Dare (2001); Valérie Blass, an exhibit at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2012), and Théâtre d’objets, shown at Parisian Laundry (2014). The artist has also participated in a number of collaborative exhibitions, including the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal’s first Triennial in 2008 and Chimères/Shimmers, presented in 2011 at the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec. Outside of Canada, Blass took part in the 2014 exhibition Oh Canada: Contemporary Art from North America at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art. In Germany, she participated in Berlin’s Traces of Life exhibition (2013). The same year, her work was shown at the Istanbul Biennial and at the Art Gallery of Alberta. Her pieces also belong to several corporate and private collections across Canada, the United States and Europe. Valérie Blass has, to date, received several awards, including Montreal’s Louis-Comtois Award (2010), the Victor Martyn Lynch-Staunton Award (2012) and the Ozias-Leduc Award (2016).

BLASS, Valérie (1967)

Valérie Blass, High-up, dignitary, panjandrum, high muckamuck, 2015. Polystyrène, Styroplast, gouache, acier, caoutchouc, impression Inkjet sur cotton, structure de métal. 101 ½ x 121 x 62 pouces. Photo © :  Catriona Jeffries Gallery 
 (Vancouver), 2015.
Valérie Blass, High-up, dignitary, panjandrum, high muckamuck, 2015. Polystyrène, Styroplast, gouache, acier, caoutchouc, impression Inkjet sur cotton, structure de métal. 101 ½ x 121 x 62 pouces. Photo © : Catriona Jeffries Gallery (Vancouver), 2015.

Née à Chambly (Québec), Valérie Blass détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Dans son travail artistique, associée principalement à la sculpture, Blass explore divers territoires qui l’amènent à juxtaposer des formes animales, humaines et inanimées qui ont pour effet de créer d’étranges objets hybrides. Souvent, avec humour, ses sculptures combinent abstraction et figuration. Son utilisation de matériaux, tant nobles que triviaux, et sa façon de les associer ne sont pas sans créer de l’étonnement de la part des spectateurs. En vue de produire des sculptures complexes et énigmatiques, elle modifie des techniques associées à ce médium, telles que le moulage, le modelage, l’assemblage et le bricolage. Depuis la fin des années 1990, Blass a exposé ses œuvres dans divers lieux au Québec, au Canada et à l’étranger. Parmi ses expositions solos, mentionnons Le regard des animaux, présentée à Dare-Dare (2001), Valérie Blass, au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal (2012), et Théâtre d’objets, à Parisian Laundry, en 2014. L’artiste a également participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives. Parmi celles-ci, il y a, en 2008, la première Triennale du Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal et Chimères/Shimmers, présentée en 2011, au Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec. À l’international, Blass a participé, en 2014, à l’exposition Oh Canada – Contemporary Art from North America au Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art. En Allemagne, elle a également participé à l’exposition Traces of Life de Berlin (2013). La même année, son travail était présenté à la Biennale d’Istanbul et à l’Art Gallery of Alberta. Ses œuvres font partie de plusieurs collections corporatives et privées à travers le Canada, les États-Unis et l’Europe. Valérie Blass a, jusqu’à ce jour, remporté plusieurs récompenses, dont le Prix Louis-Comtois de la Ville de Montréal (2010), le Prix Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton (2012) ainsi que le Prix Ozias-Leduc (2016).